Spread the love
10th Senate: Senate Presidency Zone To South East, Others

10th Senate: Senate Presidency Zone To South East, Others

A political pressure group under the auspices of The Equality Movement (TEM), has appealed to the National Working Committee of the All Progressives Congress (APC), to zone the Senate Presidency of the 10th Senate to the South East.

Leader of the Movement, Alhaji Mohammed Yusuf Ajiji and Garba Noma, the publicity secretary, in a statement in Kaduna, also appealed to the president-elect, Bola Tinubu, to support the South-East region to produce the next Senate President in the interest of equity, fairness and togetherness.

The statement explained that the APC did well in the presidential and National Assembly elections in the South East by producing six Senators as announced by the INEC compared to 2019.

The group said it was in support that the South East should be carried along with other geo-political zones.

Under the APC, the statement noted that the South East does not have a fair share in the last four years where the zone is missing in the first top five positions in the political hierarchy in the country.

According to the statement, “We used to remember the tripod of Nigeria’s politics that is the Hausa-Fulani, Yoruba and Igbo. At any point in time in order to ensure the balance of power, the ‘big three’ are adequately represented in the top echelon of political power. A situation where one of the big three is missing will create imbalance in the political equation.”

READ:  JUST IN: 10th Assembly NASS: APC Speaks On Zoning

The group called on all the political actors in the South East to close ranks and demand for a better deal under the incoming political dispensation, believing that the other geopolitical zones would stand in solidarity with them.

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *