Big Politics Security

2023 Presidency: 11 Top Politicians Supported By Arewa Group

2023 Presidency: 11 Top Politicians Supported By Arewa Group

The eleven top politicians supported by Arewa group, a northern group, Arewa Mandate Initiative, has expressed readiness to support a southern candidate for the 2023 Presidency.

Arewa group backs Tinubu, Amaechi, Umahi, eight others.

The group said it is committed to the idea of rotating the Presidency between the North and South.

It also listed 11 candidates it will be willing to support should any of them run for President.

11 Top Politicians Supported

This was contained in a statement signed by the Coordinator, Muhammed Mubarak, and Secretary, Aminu Muhammed, in Abuja. It was titled, ‘The North Is Ready For Power Shift To The South In 2023’.

The group said after consultations across numerous political groups, especially on the platform of the All Progressives Congress in the north, it concluded that the next President of Nigeria emerged from the southern part of the country.

11 Top Politicians Supported

The statement partly read, “While the North looks forward to the south to put forward the best and most acceptable material for the office of the President, the Arewa Mandate Initiative, had conducted a survey of the likely personally that could be said to possess the credentials needed to occupy the exalted office of the country.

“Among those that the North might be looking out for, include, the current Minister of State, Petroleum, Chief Timipriye Sylvia, from Bayelsa State, the current Minister of Transport, Chief Rotimi Amechi, from Rivers, and Senator Victor Ndoma Egba, a former Senate Leader and Senior Advocate of Nigeria, SAN, from Cross River state, all from the South-South.

“For the South-East, names like the former Governor of Imo State, Chief Rocha’s Okorocha, the current Minister of Science and Technology, Dr.Chris Ogbomnaya Onu, current Governor of Ebonyi, David Umahi and the former Senate President, Dr, Ken Nnamani, are listed as front runners for the plum job.

11 Top Politicians Supported
11 Top Politicians Supported

“In the South-West, the Arewa may be looking at names like Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, the National Leader of APC, current Governor of Ekiti, John Kayode Fayemi, current Minister of Works, Mr. Raji Fashola and current Minister of Interior, Rauf Aregbesola, as likely materials with the requisite qualification for the office of the President.”

11 Top Politicians Supported

The current President, Major General Muhammadu Buhari (retd.), who hails from Katsina State, in northern Nigeria, will complete eight years in office by May 2023 and many Southerners have been agitating that power should shift to the South.

Arewa group backs Tinubu, Amaechi, Umahi, eight others for 2023 Pregnancy.

….what is your opinion?

About the author


Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *