FULL LIST: 2023 Presidency: MURIC Names 8 Yoruba Muslims

FULL LIST: 2023 Presidency: MURIC Names 8 Yoruba Muslims

Following the 2023 Presidency: MURIC Names 8 Yoruba Muslims

An Islamic group Muslim Rights Concern (MURIC) on Monday listed eight Yoruba Muslims that it considered fit to be president in 2023.

The group said in a statement by its director Prof. Ishaq Akintola that it believes 2023 is the time for a Yoruba Muslim to occupy Aso Rock, adding that Yoruba Christians have enjoyed that luxury.

“No Yoruba Muslim has emerged as president since independence. Mathew Olusegun Obasanjo has been president twice: once as a military head of state (1976–79) and as a civilian president (1999 -2007). Earnest Shonekan was an interim head of state (August 1993 – November 1993). Today we still have a Yoruba Vice President who is also a Christian (Professor Yemi Osinbajo),” the statement read.

The group further said its position does not mean it will reject any Christian presidential candidate from any region other than the south-west.

2023 Presidency

2023 Presidency

“For the avoidance of doubt, MURIC has no favourite political party in this affair. Any political party that picks a Yoruba Christian as its presidential candidate come 2023 should simply kiss Yoruba Muslim votes goodbye. No political party should tell us that they cannot find competent Yoruba Muslims,” the group said.

Naming those it deems fit, Akintola wrote, “Asiwaju Ahmed Tinubu is a Muslim, a manufacturer of leaders and a mentor of performers. Dr. Muiz Banire is a Muslim. Lagos deputy governor, Dr. Kadiri Obafemi Hamzat, is a Muslim. Fashola, Aregbesola, Oloyede, Senator Fatai Buhari, Dr. Abdul Lateef Abdul Hakeem, etc are Muslims of Yoruba stock who have distinguished themselves in public office. Stop marginalizing Yoruba Muslims. We have the stuff. On Yoruba Muslim presidential candidate we stand.”

2023 Presidency

About the author


Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *