Politics Security

Buhari Gives Former INEC Chairman, Attahiru Jega Fresh Appointment

Buhari Gives Former INEC Chairman, Attahiru Jega Fresh Appointment

President Muhammadu Buhari on Thursday appointed Prof. Attahiru Jega, former Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), as Chairman, Governing Council of the University of Jos.
Naija News reports that this was made known by the Minister of Education, Malam Adamu Adamu.

Two former Ministers, Prof Anthony Anwuka and Udoma Udo Udoma, were also appointed chairmen of governing councils.

Former INEC Chairman

While Anwuka is to chair the council of the Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun, Delta State, Udoma will chair the council of Bayero University, Kano.

Both Udoma and Anwuka served as ministers in the first term of Buhari.

Other Chairmen of Councils are Prof Ahmed Mohammed Modibbo, University Of Abuja; Malam Adamu Fika, Ahmadu Bello University Zaria; Dr. Sonny Kuku, University Of Benin; Chief Ikechi Emenike, University Of Nigeria; Nsukka and Ballama Manu, University Of Maiduguri.

Former INEC Chairman

This online newspaper had ealier reported that Buhari approved the appointment of 43 traditional rulers as chancellors of some federal universities and inter-university centres.

Adamu said: “As royal fathers, these chancellors are expected to be the moral compass of the various universities…

The Speaker, Paul Emeziem (APC- Onuimo), announced the suspension of six lawmakers at the plenary for alleged unparliamentary conduct, saying the decision was taken at the executive session.

Former INEC Chairman

“Some members have been conducting themselves in an unparliamentary manner thereby bringing the house to ridicule.

“We have thoroughly examined this issue at the executive session of the house and have resolved that peace and order must continue to reign.

“The executive session has, therefore, recommended the suspension of the members who have engaged in different misconduct.

Former INEC Chairman

“This action is in line with ensuring that the image of the house remains as it should be while providing a functional environment and the synergy which we are required to provide to ensure all arms of government work together,” he said.

The suspended members are Kennedy Ibeh (APC- Obowo), Philip Ejiiogu (PDP -Owerri North) and Uche Ogbuagu (APC- Ikeduru).

Others are Dominic Ezerioha (APC- Oru west), Anyadike Nwosu (PDP- Ezinihitte Mbaise) and Onyemaechi Njoku (APC- Ihitte Uboma).

Former INEC Chairman

Mr Emeziem also announced the change in the office of the Chief Whip from Dr Arthur Egwim (APC- Ideato North) to Obinna Okwarra (APC- Nkwerre).

He also announced that all standing committees of the House have been dissolved.

The suspended members however objected to the suspension, describing it as illegal and undemocratic.

They insisted that they would continue to attend plenary.

Subsequently, the plenary became rowdy as one of the suspended lawmakers, Onyemaechi Njoku, tried to engage the speaker in a fight in protest.

This resulted in sporadic gunshots while the speaker was whisked away by his security details.

Mr Njoku, a member of the dissolved Ethics, Privileges and Information Committee, said their alleged misconduct was never brought to the committee.

He told newsmen that he would continue to attend plenary sessions as his suspension was invalid and undemocratic.

Similarly, Mr Egwim said the speaker did not follow the proper procedure in removing him as chief whip.

He stated that there were no valid grounds for his removal as no petition was brought against him and no existing case of proven misconduct.

Also, Mr Ogbuagu maintained that no executive session was held as the members had been waiting for the speaker to announce the venue for the executive session.

Former INEC Chairman
Former INEC Chairman

Mr Ogbuagu expressed surprise at the alleged unparliamentary conduct…

Buhari gives former INEC chairman, Attahiru Jega fresh appointment. Kindly drop your comment on the comments section below.

About the author


Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *