FULL LIST: 13 States Yet To Get Ministerial Nominees

Students Loans
Spread the love
FULL LIST: 13 States Yet To Get Ministerial Nominees

Eleven states out of the thirty six including are yet to be assign Ministerial nominees.

On Thursday, President Bola Tinubu sent a list of 28 ministerial nominees to the national assembly for screening, in an attempt to beat the 60-day deadline set by the constitution.

According to analysis, the list of nominees, matching them with their states of origin, and found that 11 states do not have any ministerial nominees for now.

According to section 147(3) of the 1999 constitution, as amended, the “President shall appoint at least one Minister from each State, who shall be an indigene of such State.”

While historical differences exist on how many ministers come from each state, the constitution says “at least one” from each state.

Based on analysis of the list sent by the president, Katsina, Cross River, and Bauchi states have two ministerial nominees, while 11 states do not have any for now.

The eleven states are Adamawa, Bayelsa, Gombe, Kano, Kebbi, Kogi, Lagos, Nasarawa, Osun, Yobe, and Zamfara.

Female ministerial nominees who are married, often take their home state, with the exception of Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, who was nominated for Abia state (her husband’s state) in 2003.

READ:  Cancer Not Death Sentence – Jonathan Reveals Deep Things

About the author

Dominic Edem

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *